Db Dorian Bebop

D flat Dorian Bebop scale for guitar.
The Db Dorian Bebop is an eight-note scale. Colored circles in the diagram mark the notes in the scale with darker color highlighting the root notes. In the fretboard pattern, the first root note is on the 6th string, 9th fret.


2 octaves

Db Dorian Bebop scale diagram Notes: Db - Eb - E - F - Gb - Ab - Bb - Cb Intervals: 2 - 1 - 1 - 1 - 2 - 2 - 1 - 2 Type: Octatonic 

The scale displayed with its numeric formula, notes and intervals.

Formula Notes Intervals
1 Db Unison
2 Eb Major second
b3 E Minor third
3 F Major third
4 Gb Perfect fourth
5 Ab Perfect fifth
6 Bb Sixth
b7 Cb Minor seventh

The Db Dorian Bebop scale consists of eight notes. These can be described as steps on the guitar fingerboard according to the following formula: whole, half, half, half, whole, whole, half, whole from the first note to the same in the next octave.
The Db Dorian Bebop has the same notes as the Db Dorian, but includes a passing note between the third and fifth notes.
The Gb Mixolydian Bebop scale can be seen as a mode of the Db Dorian Bebop. These scales include the same notes but in different orders.

This scale is mainly used in the bebop style of jazz.
The most obvious way to learn this scale is to think of it as a Dorian mode with an extra note.

Some of the main chords that are related to this scale are the following:

  • Dbm7
  • Ebm7
  • Emaj7
  • Gb7
  • Abm7
  • Bbm7b5
  • Bmaj7

The tones in these chords correspond to the tones of this scale.

The presented scale is one of two known D flat Dorian Bebop scales. The other version has a major seventh interval instead for the major third and can be displayed as follows:

Formula Notes Intervals
1 Db Unison
2 Eb Major second
b3 E Minor third
4 Gb Perfect fourth
5 Ab Diminished fifth
6 Bb Minor sixth
b7 Cb Minor seventh
7 C Major seventh

In addition, there are also Major Bebop and Minor Bebop.