Db Blues

D flat Blues scale for guitar.
The Db Blues scale is a six-note scale. In the fingerboard diagrams the notes in the scale are marked out with blue circles (root notes in darker color). The scale is displayed in a two-octave pattern and in the five main fingerboard positions.

2 octaves

Db blues scale diagram

Shape 1 (9th position)

Db blues scale shape diagram 9th pos

Shape 2 (11th position)

Db blues scale shape diagram 11th pos

Shape 3 (2nd position)

Db blues scale shape diagram 2nd pos

Shape 4 (4th position)

Db blues scale shape diagram 4th pos

Shape 5 (6th position)

Db blues scale shape diagram 6th pos

Scale with extension

Db blues scale extended diagram
Notes: Db - E - Gb - G - Ab - B Intervals: 3 - 2 - 1 - 1 - 3 - 2 Type: Hexatonic

The scale and its scale degrees.

Formula Notes
1 Db
b3 E
4 Gb
b5 G
5 Ab
b7 B

Compared to the corresponding Major scale, three notes are flatted, including the additional chromatic b5 note.

The notes in the scale can be described as steps on the guitar fingerboard according to the following formula: whole and a half, whole, half, half, whole and a half, whole from the first note to the same in the next octave.
The D flat Blues scale contains all the notes in the Db Pentatonic Minor plus a flatted fifth, the so-called blue note. Due to the close relationship to Dbm Pentatonic, the scale is also referred to as Dbm Pentatonic Blues or Db Minor Blues.

Notice that the Db Pentatonic Minor Blues scale is identical with the Db Pentatonic Minor scale except for the passing note (b5).
The "Extended" diagram shows a way to expand the scale pattern with shape one merged with parts of two adjacent shapes.

Start the audio and play along! Use notes from the scale in the diagram above.

Normal tempo:
Slow tempo:

D flat Pentatonic Minor Blues scale first shape ascending.

Db Pentatonic Minor Blues scale tab

The numbers above the tablature are suggested fingerings.