Db Gypsy Major

D flat Gypsy Major scale for guitar.
The Db Gypsy Major is a seven-note scale. Notes are displayed in the diagram with blue color with the root notes indicated by darker color. In the two-octave pattern, the first root note appears on the 6th string, 9th fret.


2 octaves

Db gypsy Major scale diagram Notes: Db - D - F - Gb - Ab - A - C Intervals: 1 - 3 - 1 - 2 - 1 - 3 - 1 Type: Septonic

The scale displayed with its numeric formula, notes, intervals and scale degrees.

Formula Notes Intervals Degrees
1 Db Unison Tonic
b2 D Minor second Supertonic
3 F Major third Mediant
4 Gb Perfect fourth Subdominant
5 Ab Perfect fifth Dominant
b6 A Minor sixth Submediant
7 C Major seventh Leading tone

The main three-note and four-note chords that can be harmonized from this scale are the following:

Name Notation Name Notation
Db X46664 Dbmaj7 X46564
D XX0232 Dmaj7 XX0222
Fm 133111 Fm6 XX0111
Gbm 244222 GbmM7 XX4665
Ab-5 XX6798 Ab7-5 X56778
Aaug X03221 Aaug7 5X566X
Csus2(b5)   C6/9b5sus2  

The tones in these chords correspond to the tones of the Db Gypsy Major scale.
The second and fourth columns include short notations for the chords in the first and third columns respectively. These are based on common ways to play the chord, but there are other alternatives. See more about this notation system on the FAQ page.

The D flat Gypsy Major consists of seven notes. These can be described as intervals, based on semi-notes or steps on the guitar fingerboard, written as 1 - 3 - 1 - 2 - 1 - 3 - 1 from the first note to the next octave.
The scale can be played on the guitar from different starting positions in which Db functions as the tonic.
The Db Gypsy Major is also referred to as the Db Spanish gypsy scale or the Db Byzantine scale.