Db Aeolian

D flat Aeolian scale for guitar.
The Db Aeolian is a seven-note scale (also referred to as the Db Minor scale). Notes are displayed in the fingerboard diagram, with the root notes indicated by darker color. In the two-octave pattern, the first root note is on the 6th string, 9th fret.


2 octaves

Db Aeolian scale diagram Notes: Db - Eb - Fb - Gb - Ab - Bbb - Cb Intervals: 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 Type: Septonic 

The scale displayed with its numeric formula, notes, intervals and scale degrees.

Formula Notes Intervals Degrees
1 Db Unison Tonic
2 Eb Major second Supertonic
b3 Fb Minor third Mediant
4 Gb Perfect fourth Subdominant
5 Ab Perfect fifth Dominant
b6 Bbb Minor sixth Submediant
b7 Cb Minor seventh Subtonic

The third degree is written as Fb, which is the same as E. The sixth degree is written as Bbb, which is the same as A. The seventh degree is written as Cb, which is the same as B. A practice in a scale notation is to not include the same letter twice, if it can be avoided.

The D flat Aeolian consists of seven notes. These can be described as steps on the guitar fingerboard according to the following formula: whole, half, whole, whole, half, whole, whole from the first note to the same in the next octave.
Db Aeolian is the first mode of Db Minor and therefore both scales include the same notes and in the same order.

This scale is used in numerous styles, such as blues, rock, metal, and classical music.
Since this scale is exactly the same as the Minor scale you don't have to put any time into learning it.

Chords that are related to this scale are the following:

Dbm, Dbm7, Dbm9, Dbm11
Ebdim, Ebm7b5
E, Emaj7, E6, E6/9, Emaj9, Emaj13
Gbm, Gbm7, Gbm6, Gbm9, Gbm11, Gbm13
Abm, Abm7
A, Amaj7, A6, A6/9, Amaj9
B, B7, B6, B9, B11, B13

The tones in these chords correspond to the tones of the Db Aeolian mode.