D Dorian scale

D Dorian scale for guitar presented by diagram.
The D Dorian is a seven-note scale, also called D Jazz Minor. Colored circles in the diagram mark the notes, with darker color highlighting the root notes. In the two-octave pattern, the first root note is on the 6th string, 10th fret.


2 octaves

D dorian scale diagram Notes: D - E - F - G - A - B - C Intervals: 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 - 2 - 1 - 2 Type: Septonic 

The scale displayed with its numeric formula, intervals and scale degrees.

Intervals Degrees
1 D Unison Tonic
2 E Major second Supertonic
b3 F Minor third Mediant
4 G Perfect fourth Subdominant
5 A Perfect fifth Dominant
6 B Sixth Submediant
b7 C Minor seventh Subtonic

Chords that are related to this scale are the following:

Dm7, Dm9, Dm11
Fmaj7, Fmaj9
G7, G9, G11, G13
Am7, Am9, Am11
Cmaj7, Cmaj9, Cmaj13

The tones in these chords corresponds to the tones of the D Dorian scale (triads have been excluded).

The D Dorian scale consist of seven notes. These can be described as steps on the guitar fingerboard according to the following formula: whole, half, whole, whole, whole, half and whole from the first note to the same in the next octave.
The D Dorian is also a mode of the C Major Scale. It contains exactly the same notes, but starts on another note.
The scale is otherwise most related to the D Natural Minor and D Melodic Minor scales, which differ with just one note in both cases.

Start the audio and play along! Use notes from the scale in the diagram above.

Normal tempo:
Slow tempo:

D scales categories

D Major D Minor D Melodic Minor D Harmonic Minor D Major Pentatonic D Minor Pentatonic D Dorian D Gypsy Major D Gypsy Minor