D Mixolydian Bebop scale

D Mixolydian Bebop scale for guitar.
The D Mixolydian Bebop, also called D Dominant Bebop, is an eight-note scale. Colored circles in the diagram mark the notes in the scale with darker color highlighting the root notes. In the fretboard pattern, the first root note is on the 6th string, 10th fret.


2 octaves

D Mixolydian Bebop scale diagramNotes: D - E - F# - G - A - B - C - C#Intervals: 2 - 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 - 1 - 1 - 1 Type: Octatonic 

The scale displayed with its numeric formula, intervals and scale degrees.

Formula Notes
1 D
2 E
3 F#
4 G
5 A
6 B
b7 C
7 C#

The D Mixolydian Bebop scale consists of eight notes. These can be described as steps on the guitar fingerboard according to the following formula: whole, whole, half, whole, whole, half, half, half from the first note to the same in the next octave.
The D Mixolydian Bebop has the same notes as the D Mixolydian but includes a major seventh, the last note in the scale.

This scale is typically played over a dominant seventh chord (primarily D7 in this case) in the bebop style of jazz. This is hinted from the alternative name of this scale, D Dominant Bebop.
The most obvious way to learn this scale is to think of it as a Mixolydian mode with an leading tone before the main note.

The main chords that are related to this scale are the following:

  • D7
  • Em7
  • Am7
  • Bm7

The tones in these chords correspond to the tones of this scale.

The A Dorian Bebop is the relative minor scale to D Mixolydian Bebop, which means that both scales include the same notes but in different orders. In addition, there are also Major Bebop and Minor Bebop.

Start the audio and play along! Use notes from the scale in the diagram above.

Normal tempo:
Slow tempo:

Go to Jam Tracks section for more guitar jam tracks!