A Minor scale

A Minor scale for guitar.
The A Minor is a seven-note scale, also called Natural A Minor. Colored circles mark the tones in the diagram, with darker color highlighting the root notes. The root notes are always A tones. In the two-octave pattern, the first root note is on the 6th string, 5th fret.


2 octaves

A minor scale diagram Notes: A - B - C - D - E - F - G Intervals: 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 Type: Septonic 

The scale displayed with its numeric formula, intervals and scale degrees.

Formula Notes Intervals Degrees
1 A Unison Tonic
2 B Major second Supertonic
b3 C Minor third Mediant
4 D Perfect fourth Subdominant
5 E Perfect fifth Dominant
b6 F Minor sixth Submediant
b7 G Minor seventh Subtonic

The main chords that are related to this scale are the following:

  • Am
  • Bdim
  • C
  • Dm
  • Em
  • F
  • G

The tones in these chords correspond to the tones of the A Minor scale.

The A Minor scale consists of seven notes. These can be described as intervals, as semi-notes or steps on the guitar fingerboard, written as 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 from the first note to the next octave.
The A Minor is relative to C Major. Both scales include the same notes but their tonal center differ.
The A Minor is identical with the A Aeolian mode.

Start the audio and play along! Use notes from the scale in the diagram above.

Normal tempo:
Slow tempo: