B Ionian

B Ionian scale for guitar.
The B Ionian is a seven-note scale (also referred to as the A Major scale). Notes are displayed in the fingerboard diagram, with the root notes indicated by darker color. In the two-octave pattern, the first root note is on the 6th string, 7th fret.


2 octaves

B Ionian scale diagramNotes: B - C# - D# - E - F# - G# - A# Intervals: 2 - 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 - 2 - 1 Type: Septonic 

The scale displayed with its numeric formula and scale degrees.

Formula Notes Intervals Degrees
1 B Unison Tonic
2 C# Major second Supertonic
3 D# Major third Mediant
4 E Perfect fourth Subdominant
5 F# Perfect fifth Dominant
6 G# Sixth Submediant
7 A# Minor seventh Subtonic

The b Ionian consists of seven notes. These can be described as steps on the guitar fingerboard according to the following formula: whole, whole, half, whole, whole, whole, half from the first note to the same in the next octave.
b Ionian is the first mode of B Major and therefore both scales include the same notes and in the same order.

This scale is used in numerous styles, such as various forms of pop, rock and classical music.
Since this scale is exactly the same as the Major scale you don't have to put any time into learning it.

The main three-note and four-note chords that are related to this scale are the following:

B X24442 Bmaj7 X02120
C#m X46654 C#m7 X46454
D#m X68876 D#m7 X68676
E 022100 Emaj7 020100
F# 244322 F#7 242322
G#m 466444 G#m7 464444
A#dim X1232X A#m7b5 XX8999

The tones in these chords correspond to the tones of the B Major mode.

Start the audio and play along! Use notes from the scale in the diagram above.

Normal tempo:
Slow tempo: