B Harmonic Minor scale

B Harmonic Minor scale for guitar.
The B Harmonic Minor is a seven-note scale. Colored circles mark the tones in the diagram, the darker ones highlighting the root notes. In the two-octave pattern, the first note in the scale is on the 6th string, 7th fret.


2 octaves

B harmonic minor scale diagram Notes: B - C# - D - E - F# - G - A# Intervals: 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 - 1 - 3 - 1 Type: Septonic 

The scale displayed with its numeric formula and scale degrees.

Formula Notes Intervals Degrees
1 B Unison Tonic
2 C# Major second Supertonic
b3 D Minor third Mediant
4 E Perfect fourth Subdominant
5 F# Perfect fifth Dominant
b6 G Minor sixth Submediant
7 A# Minor seventh Subtonic

The main chords that are related to this scale are the following:

Bm X24432 BmM7 X24332
C#dim X4565X C#m7b5 X4545X
Daug X5433X DM7#5 X5X676
Em 022000 Em7 022030
F# 244322 F#7 242322
G 320003 Gmaj7 320002
A#dim X1232X A#dim7 XX8989

The tones in these chords corresponds to the tones of the B Harmonic Minor scale.
The second and fourth columns include short notations for the chords in the first and third columns respectively. These are based on common ways to play the chord, but there are other alternatives. See more about this notation system on the FAQ page.

The B Harmonic Minor scale consist of seven notes. These can be described as intervals, as semi-notes or steps on the guitar fingerboard from the first note to the next octave. Written as semi-notes: 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 - 1 - 3 - 1. Written as steps: whole, half, whole, whole, half, whole and a half, half.
The B Harmonic Minor is one of three B Minor scales, the other two are B Natural Minor and B Melodic Minor.