Bb Minor scale

B flat Minor scale for guitar.
The Bb Minor is a seven-note scale, also called Natural Bb Minor. Colored circles mark the tones in the diagram, with darker color highlighting the root notes. The root notes are always Bb tones. In the two-octave pattern, the first root note is on the 6th string, 6th fret.


2 octaves

Bb minor scale diagram Notes: Bb - C - Db - Eb - F - Gb - Ab Intervals: 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 Type: Septonic 

The scale displayed with its numeric formula, intervals and scale degrees.

Formula Notes Intervals Degrees
1 Bb Unison Tonic
2 C Major second Supertonic
b3 Db Minor third Mediant
4 Eb Perfect fourth Subdominant
5 F Perfect fifth Dominant
b6 Gb Minor sixth Submediant
b7 Ab Minor seventh Subtonic

The main chords that are related to this scale are the following:

  • Bbm
  • Cdim
  • Db
  • Ebm
  • Fm
  • Gb
  • Ab

The tones in these chords correspond to the tones of the Bb Minor scale.

The B flat Minor scale consists of seven notes. These can be described as intervals, as semi-notes or steps on the guitar fingerboard, written as 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 from the first note to the next octave.
The Bb Minor is relative to C# Major. Both scales include the same notes but their tonal center differ.
The Bb Minor is identical with the Bb Aeolian mode.

Start the audio and play along! Use notes from the scale in the diagram above.

Normal tempo:
Slow tempo: