Bb Aeolian

B flat Aeolian scale for guitar.
The Bb Aeolian is a seven-note scale (also referred to as the Bb Minor scale). Notes are displayed in the fingerboard diagram, with the root notes indicated by darker color. In the two-octave pattern, the first root note is on the 6th string, 6th fret.


2 octaves

Bb Aeolian scale diagramNotes: Bb - C - Db - Eb - F - Gb - Ab Intervals: 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 Type: Septonic 

The scale displayed with its numeric formula, notes, intervals and scale degrees.

Formula Notes Intervals Degrees
1 Bb Unison Tonic
2 C Major second Supertonic
b3 Db Minor third Mediant
4 Eb Perfect fourth Subdominant
5 F Perfect fifth Dominant
b6 Gb Minor sixth Submediant
b7 Ab Minor seventh Subtonic

The B flat Aeolian consists of seven notes. These can be described as steps on the guitar fingerboard according to the following formula: whole, half, whole, whole, half, whole, whole from the first note to the same in the next octave.
Bb Aeolian is the first mode of Bb Minor and therefore both scales include the same notes and in the same order.

This scale is used in numerous styles, such as blues, rock, metal, and classical music.
Since this scale is exactly the same as the Minor scale you don't have to put any time into learning it.

Chords that are related to this scale are the following:

Bbm, Bbm7, Bbm9, Bbm11
Cdim, Cm7b5
Db, Dbmaj7, Db6, Db6/9, Dbmaj9, Dbmaj13
Ebm, Ebm7, Ebm6, Ebm9, Ebm11, Ebm13
Fm, Fm7
Gb, Gbmaj7, Gb6, Gb6/9, Gbmaj9
Ab, Ab7, Ab6, Ab9, Ab11, Ab13

The tones in these chords correspond to the tones of the Bb Aeolian mode.