Bb Ionian

B flat Ionian scale for guitar.
The Bb Ionian is a seven-note scale (also referred to as the Bb Major scale). Notes are displayed in the fingerboard diagram, with the root notes indicated by darker color. In the two-octave pattern, the first root note is on the 6th string, 6th fret.


2 octaves

Bb Ionian scale diagramNotes: Bb - C - D - Eb - F - G - A Intervals: 2 - 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 - 2 - 1 Type: Septonic 

The scale displayed with its numeric formula and scale degrees.

Formula Notes Intervals Degrees
1 Bb Unison Tonic
2 C Major second Supertonic
3 D Major third Mediant
4 Eb Perfect fourth Subdominant
5 F Perfect fifth Dominant
6 G Sixth Submediant
7 AMajor seventh Leading tone

The B flat Ionian consists of seven notes. These can be described as steps on the guitar fingerboard according to the following formula: whole, whole, half, whole, whole, whole, half from the first note to the same in the next octave.
Bb Ionian is the first mode of Bb Major and therefore both scales include the same notes and in the same order.

This scale is used in numerous styles, such as various forms of pop, rock and classical music.
Since this scale is exactly the same as the Major scale you don't have to put any time into learning it.

The main three-note and four-note chords that are related to this scale are the following:

Bb X13331 Bbmaj7 X13231
Cm X35543 Cm7 X35343
Dm XX0231 Dm7 XX0211
Eb X68886 Ebmaj7 X68786
F 133211 F7 131211
Gm 355333 Gm7 353333
Adim X0121X Am7b5 XX7888

The tones in these chords correspond to the tones of the Bb Ionian mode.