Bb Gypsy Major

B flat Gypsy Major scale for guitar.
The Bb Gypsy Major is a seven-note scale. Notes are displayed in the diagram with blue color with the root notes indicated by darker color. In the two-octave pattern, the first root note appears on the 6th string, 6th fret.


2 octaves

Bb gypsy Major scale diagramNotes: Bb - B - D - Eb - F - Gb - A Intervals: 1 - 3 - 1 - 2 - 1 - 3 - 1 Type: Septonic

The scale displayed with its numeric formula, notes, intervals and scale degrees.

Formula Notes Intervals Degrees
1 Bb Unison Tonic
b2 B Minor second Supertonic
3 D Major third Mediant
4 Eb Perfect fourth Subdominant
5 F Perfect fifth Dominant
b6 Gb Minor sixth Submediant
7 A Major seventh Leading tone

The main three-note and four-note chords that can be harmonized from this scale are the following:

Name Notation Name Notation
Bb X13331 Bbmaj7 X13231
B X24442 Bmaj7 X02120
Dm XX0231 Ddim7 XX3434
Ebm X68886 EbmM7 X68776
F-5 XX3465 F7-5 X23445
Gbaug X9877X Gbaug7 2X233X
Asus2(b5)   A6/9b5sus2  

The tones in these chords correspond to the tones of the Bb Gypsy Major scale.
The second and fourth columns include short notations for the chords in the first and third columns respectively. These are based on common ways to play the chord, but there are other alternatives. See more about this notation system on the FAQ page.

The B flat Gypsy Major consists of seven notes. These can be described as intervals, based on semi-notes or steps on the guitar fingerboard, written as 1 - 3 - 1 - 2 - 1 - 3 - 1 from the first note to the next octave.
The scale can be played on the guitar from different starting positions in which Bb functions as the tonic.
The Bb Gypsy Major is also referred to as the Bb Spanish gypsy scale or the Bb Byzantine scale.