Bb Gypsy Minor

B flat Gypsy Minor scale for guitar.
The Bb Gypsy Minor is a seven-note scale. Notes are displayed in the diagram with blue color with the root notes indicated by darker color. In the two-octave pattern, the first root note appears on the 6th string, 6th fret.


2 octaves

Bb gypsy minor scale diagramNotes: Bb - C - Db - E - F - Gb - A Intervals: 2 - 1 - 3 - 1 - 1 - 3 - 1 Type: Septonic

The scale displayed with its numeric formula, notes, intervals and scale degrees.

Formula Notes Intervals Degrees
1 Bb Unison Tonic
2 C Major second Supertonic
b3 Db Minor third Mediant
#4 E Augmented fourth Subdominant
5 F Perfect fifth Dominant
b6 Gb Minor sixth Submediant
7 A Minor seventh Subtonic

The main three-note and four-note chords that can be harmonized from this scale are the following:

Name Notation Name Notation
Bbm X13321 Bbm7 X13121
C-5 X3455X C7-5 X34345
Dbaug X4322X DbM7#5 X4X565
Esus2 X79977 N/A N/A
F XX3211 Fmaj7 XX3210
Gb XX2234 Gbmaj7 XX4321
Am X02210 Am6 X02212

The tones in these chords correspond to the tones of the Bb Gypsy Minor scale.
The second and fourth columns include short notations for the chords in the first and third columns respectively. These are based on common ways to play the chord, but there are other alternatives. See more about this notation system on the FAQ page.

The B flat Gypsy Minor consists of seven notes. These can be described as intervals, based on semi-notes or steps on the guitar fingerboard, written as 2 - 1 - 3 - 1 - 1 - 3 - 1 from the first note to the next octave.
The scale can be played on the guitar from different starting positions in which Bb functions as the tonic.
The Bb Gypsy Minor is also referred to as the Bb Hungarian Minor scale. It should not be confused with the Bb Gypsy Major scale.