A# Minor scale

A sharp Minor scale for guitar presented by diagram.
The A# Minor is a seven-note scale, also called Natural A# Minor. Colored circles mark the tones in the diagram, with darker color highlighting the root notes. The root notes are always A# tones. In the two-octave pattern, the first root note is on the 6th string, 6th fret.


2 octaves

A# minor scale diagram Notes: A# - B# - C# - D# - E# - F# - G# Intervals: 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 Type: Septonic

The scale displayed with its numeric formula, intervals and scale degrees.

Formula Notes Intervals Degrees
1 A# Unison Tonic
2 B# Major second Supertonic
b3 C# Minor third Mediant
4 D# Perfect fourth Subdominant
5 E# Perfect fifth Dominant
b6 F# Minor sixth Submediant
b7 G# Minor seventh Subtonic

The second degree is written as B#, which is the same as C. The fifth degree is written as E#, which is the same as F. A practice in a scale notation is to not include the same letter twice, if it can be avoided.

The main chords that are related to this scale are the following:

  • A#m
  • Cbdim
  • C#
  • D#m
  • Fm
  • F#
  • G#

The tones in these chords correspond to the tones of the A# Minor scale.

The A sharp Minor scale consists of seven notes. These can be described as intervals, as semi-notes or steps on the guitar fingerboard, written as 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 from the first note to the next octave.
The A# Minor is relative to C# Major. Both scales include the same notes but their tonal center differ.
The A# Minor is identical with the A# Aeolian mode.

Start the audio and play along! Use notes from the scale in the diagram above.

Normal tempo:
Slow tempo: