A# Gypsy Major

A sharp Gypsy Major scale for guitar.
The A# Gypsy Major is a seven-note scale. Notes are displayed in the diagram with blue color with the root notes indicated by darker color. In the two-octave pattern, the first root note appears on the 6th string, 6th fret.


2 octaves

A# gypsy Major scale diagramNotes: A# - B - D - D# - F - F# - A Intervals: 1 - 3 - 1 - 2 - 1 - 3 - 1 Type: Septonic

The scale displayed with its numeric formula, notes, intervals and scale degrees.

Formula Notes Intervals Degrees
1 A# Unison Tonic
b2 B Minor second Supertonic
3 D Major third Mediant
4 D# Perfect fourth Subdominant
5 F Perfect fifth Dominant
b6 F# Minor sixth Submediant
7 A Major seventh Leading tone

The main three-note and four-note chords that can be harmonized from this scale are the following:

Name Notation Name Notation
A# X13331 A#maj7 X13231
B X24442 Bmaj7 X02120
Dm XX0231 Dm6 XX0201
D#m X68886 D#mM7 X68776
F-5 XX3465 F7-5 X23445
F#aug X9877X F#aug7 2X233X
Asus2(b5)   A6/9b5sus2  

The tones in these chords correspond to the tones of the A# Gypsy Major scale.
The second and fourth columns include short notations for the chords in the first and third columns respectively. These are based on common ways to play the chord, but there are other alternatives. See more about this notation system on the FAQ page.

The A sharp Gypsy Major consists of seven notes. These can be described as intervals, based on semi-notes or steps on the guitar fingerboard, written as 1 - 3 - 1 - 2 - 1 - 3 - 1 from the first note to the next octave.
The scale can be played on the guitar from different starting positions in which A# functions as the tonic.
The A# Gypsy Major is also referred to as the A# Spanish gypsy scale or the A# Byzantine scale.