A# Persian

A sharp Persian scale for guitar.
The A# Persian is a seven-note scale. Notes are displayed in the diagram with blue color with the root notes indicated by darker color. In the two-octave pattern, the first root note (the tonic) appears on the 6th string, 6th fret.


2 octaves

A# Persian scale diagram Notes: A# - B - C# - D# - E - F# - G## Intervals: 1 - 3 - 1 - 1 - 2 - 3 - 1 Type: Septonic

The scale displayed with its numeric formula, notes, intervals and scale degrees.

Formula Notes Intervals Degrees
1 A# Unison Tonic
b2 B Minor second Supertonic
3 C# Major third Mediant
4 D# Perfect fourth Subdominant
b5 E Diminished fifth Dominant
b6 F# Minor sixth Submediant
7 G## Major seventh Leading tone

The seventh degree is written as G##, which is the same as A. A practice in a scale notation is to not include the same letter twice, if it can be avoided.

The A sharp Persian consists of seven notes. These can be described as steps according to the following formula: half, whole and a half, half, half, whole, whole and a half and half from the first note to the same in the next octave.
The scale can be played on the guitar from different starting positions in which A# functions as the tonic.
A# Persian has similarities with A# Gypsy Major, A# Locrian and A# Phrygian Dominant Mode.

This scale is foremost used in Persian and Middle East music.
When harmonized, only the second and fourth degrees are matched with common major or minor triads, B and D#m that is.
One way to learn this scale is to observe the two chromatic sequences as well as the two tree-step intervals in each octave.