A# Melodic Minor scale

A sharp Melodic Minor scale for guitar.
The A# Melodic Minor is a seven-note scale. Colored circles mark the tones in the fingerboard diagram, with darker color highlighting the root notes. In the two-octave pattern, the first root note is on the 6th string, 6th fret.


2 octaves

A# melodic minor scale diagram Notes: A# - B# - C# - D# - E# - F## - G## Intervals: 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 - 2 - 2 - 1 Type: Septonic 

The scale displayed with its numeric formula, intervals and scale degrees.

Formula Notes Intervals Degrees
1 A# Unison Tonic
2 B# Major second Supertonic
b3 C# Minor third Mediant
4 D# Perfect fourth Subdominant
5 E# Perfect fifth Dominant
6 F## Minor sixth Submediant
7 G## Minor seventh Subtonic

The second degree is written as B#, which is the same as C. The fifth degree is written as E#, which is the same as F. The sixth degree is written as F##, which is the same as G. The seventh degree is written as G##, which is the same as A. A practice in a scale notation is to not include the same letter twice, if it can be avoided.

The main chords that are related to this scale are the following:

  • A#m
  • Cm
  • Dbaug
  • Eb
  • F
  • Gdim
  • Adim

The tones in these chords correspond to the tones of the A# Melodic Minor scale.

The A sharp Melodic Minor scale consists of seven notes. These can be described as intervals, as semi-notes or steps on the guitar fingerboard, written as 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 - 2 - 2 - 1 from the first note to the next octave.
The A# Melodic Minor is one of three A# Minor scales, the other two are A# Natural Minor and A# Harmonic Minor.
The scale is identical with the Major scale apart from the minor third. Because of this, it is sometimes referred to as Ionian b3 scale.