A Dorian scale

A Dorian scale for guitar.
The A Dorian is a seven-note scale, also called A Jazz Minor. Colored circles in the diagram mark the notes, with darker color highlighting the root notes. In the two-octave pattern, the first root note is on the 6th string, 5th fret.


2 octaves

A dorian scale diagram Notes: A - B - C - D - E - F# - G Intervals: 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 - 2 - 1 - 2 Type: Septonic 

The scale displayed with its numeric formula, intervals and scale degrees.

Intervals Degrees
1 A Unison Tonic
2 B Major second Supertonic
b3 C Minor third Mediant
4 D Perfect fourth Subdominant
5 E Perfect fifth Dominant
6 F# Sixth Submediant
b7 G Minor seventh Subtonic

Chords that are related to this scale are the following:

Am7, Am9, Am11
Cmaj7, Cmaj9
D7, D9, D11, D13
Em7, Em9, Em11
Gmaj7, Gmaj9, Gmaj13

The tones in these chords corresponds to the tones of the A Dorian scale (triads have been excluded).

The A Dorian scale consist of seven notes. These can be described as steps on the guitar fingerboard according to the following formula: whole, half, whole, whole, whole, half and whole from the first note to the same in the next octave.
The A Dorian is also a mode of the G Major Scale. It contains exactly the same notes, but starts on another note.
The scale is otherwise most related to the A Natural Minor and A Melodic Minor scales, which differ with just one note in both cases.

Start the audio and play along! Use notes from the scale in the diagram above.

Normal tempo:
Slow tempo: