A Pentatonic Major

A Pentatonic scale for guitar.
The A Pentatonic Major is a five-note scale. The diagram shows a fingerboard with the scale notes. Darker color marks the root notes, which are A tones. In the two-octave pattern, the first root note is on the 6th string, 5th fret.

A Pentatonic Major 2 octaves

A Pentatonic Major scale diagram

A Pentatonic Major full fretboard

A Pentatonic Major scale whole guitar neck diagram

A Pentatonic Major with note names

A Pentatonic Major scale with note letters diagram

Shape 1 (4th position)

A Pentatonic Major scale shape diagram 5th pos

Shape 5 (2nd position)

A Pentatonic Major scale shape diagram 2nd pos
Notes: A - B - C# - E - F# Intervals: 2 - 2 - 3 - 2 - 3 Type: Pentatonic

The scale and its scale degrees.

Formula Notes
1 A
2 B
3 C#
5 E
6 F#

The fourth degree is omitted, as well as the seventh, since the degrees are based on the regular Major seven-note scale.

The interval formula (2 - 2 - 3 - 2 - 3) can be expound into specific notes of the scale.

Notes (ascending) Interval
A-B M2
A-C# M3
A-E P5
A-F# M6
Notes (descending) Interval
A-F# m3
A-E P4
A-C# m6
A-B m7

Abbreviations are used: M / m stands for major / minor and P stands for perfect.

The notes in the scale can be described as intervals, written as 2 - 2 - 3 - 2 - 3 from the first note to the first in next octave.
The A Pentatonic Major is relative to F# Pentatonic Minor. Both scales include the same notes but with different root notes.

Some of the chords that are related to this scale are listed here:

  • A
  • Bm7
  • C#m7
  • Esus4
  • F#m

The tones in these chords correspond to the tones of the A Pentatonic Major scale. Notice that the match is not completely exact, the third (D) in Bm7 and the fifth (G#) in C#m7 are not included in the scale.

Related to this scale is the A Pentatonic Major add4, adding the 4th degree. It can be displayed as follows:

Formula Notes Intervals Degrees
1 A Unison Tonic
2 B Major second Supertonic
3 C# Major third Mediant
4 D Perfect fourth Subdominant
5 E Perfect fifth Dominant
6 F# Sixth Submediant

The A Pentatonic Major add4 scale, is identical with the A Major except for missing the major 7th interval.

Start the audio and play along! Use notes from the scale in the diagram above.

Normal tempo:
Slow tempo:

A Pentatonic Major scale first shape ascending.

A Pentatonic Major scale tab

The numbers above the tablature are suggested fingerings.