A Melodic Minor

A Melodic Minor scale for guitar.
The A Melodic Minor is a seven-note scale. Colored circles mark the tones in the fingerboard diagram, with darker color highlighting the root notes. In the two-octave pattern, the first root note is on the 6th string, 5th fret.

A Melodic Minor 2 octaves

A Melodic Minor scale diagram

A Melodic Minor full fretboard

A Melodic Minor scale whole guitar neck diagram

A Melodic Minor with note names

A Melodic Minor scale with note letters diagram
Notes: A - B - C - D - E - F# - G# Intervals: 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 - 2 - 2 - 1 Type: Septonic 

The scale displayed with its numeric formula, intervals and scale degrees.

Formula Notes Intervals Degrees
1 A Unison Tonic
2 B Major second Supertonic
b3 C Minor third Mediant
4 D Perfect fourth Subdominant
5 E Perfect fifth Dominant
6 F# Sixth Submediant
7 G# Major seventh Subtonic

The interval formula (2 - 1 - 2 - 2 - 2 - 2 - 1) can be expound into specific notes of the scale.

Notes (ascending) Interval
A-B M2
A-C m3
A-D P4
A-E P5
A-F# M6
A-G# M7
Notes (descending) Interval
A-G# m2
A-F# m3
A-E P4
A-D P5
A-C M6
A-B m7

Abbreviations are used: M / m stands for major / minor and P stands for perfect.

These are the main chords built from the notes of this scale:

Chord Notes Chord Notes Chord Notes
Am A-C-E Am6 A-C-E-F# Am6/9 A-C-E-F#-B
Bm B-D-F# Bm7 B-D-F#-A    
Caug C-E-G# CM7#5 C-E-G#-B Cmaj9 C-E-G-B-D
D D-F#-A D7 D-F#-A-C D9 D-F#-A-C-E
E E-G#-B E7 E-G#-B-D E9 E-G#-B-D-F#
F#dim F-A-C# F#m7b5 F#-A-C-E    
G#dim G-B-D# G#m7b5 G#-B-D-F#    

The tones in these chords correspond to the tones of the A Melodic Minor scale in which Am is the tonic triad. “M” is used as an abbreviation instead for “maj” in the third column.

The A Melodic Minor scale consists of seven notes. These can be described as intervals, as semi-notes or steps on the guitar fingerboard, written as 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 - 2 - 2 - 1 from the first note to the next octave.
This scale has an unusual aspect: it ascends as described above but descends as the Natural Minor. For that reason, it is also known as the Ascending Melodic Minor.
The A Melodic Minor is one of three A Minor scales, the other two are A Natural Minor and A Harmonic Minor.
The scale is identical with the Major scale apart from the minor third. Because of this, it is sometimes referred to as Ionian b3 scale.