G# Minor scale

G sharp Minor scale for guitar presented by diagram.
The G# Minor is a seven-note scale, also called Natural G# Minor. Colored circles mark the tones in the diagram, with darker color highlighting the root notes. The root notes are always G# tones. In the two-octave pattern, the first root note is on the 6th string, 4th fret.


2 octaves

G# minor scale diagram Notes: G# - A# - B - C# - D# - E - F# Intervals: 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 Type: Septonic

The scale displayed with its numeric formula, intervals and scale degrees.

Formula Notes Intervals Degrees
1 G# Unison Tonic
2 A# Major second Supertonic
b3 B Minor third Mediant
4 C# Perfect fourth Subdominant
5 D# Perfect fifth Dominant
b6 E Minor sixth Submediant
b7 F# Minor seventh Subtonic

The main chords that are related to this scale are the following:

  • G#m
  • A#dim
  • B
  • C#m
  • D#m
  • E
  • F#

The tones in these chords corresponds to the tones of the G# Minor scale.

The G sharp Minor scale consist of seven notes. These can be described as intervals, as semi-notes or steps on the guitar fingerboard, written as 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 from the first note to the next octave.
The G# Minor is relative to B Major. Both scales include the same notes but their tonal center differ.
The G# Minor is identical with the G# Aeolian mode.