B Persian

B Persian scale for guitar.
The B Persian is a seven-note scale. Notes are displayed in the diagram with blue color with the root notes indicated by darker color. In the two-octave pattern, the first root note (the tonic) appears on the 6th string, 7th fret.


2 octaves

B Persian scale diagram Notes: B - C - D# - E - F - G - A# Intervals: 1 - 3 - 1 - 1 - 2 - 3 - 1 Type: Septonic

The scale displayed with its numeric formula, notes, intervals and scale degrees.

Formula Notes Intervals Degrees
1 B Unison Tonic
b2 C Minor second Supertonic
3 D# Major third Mediant
4 E Perfect fourth Subdominant
b5 F Diminished fifth Dominant
b6 G Minor sixth Submediant
7 A# Major seventh Leading tone

The B Persian consists of seven notes. These can be described as steps according to the following formula: half, whole and a half, half, half, whole, whole and a half and half from the first note to the same in the next octave.
The scale can be played on the guitar from different starting positions in which B functions as the tonic.
B Persian has similarities with B Gypsy Major, B Locrian and B Phrygian Dominant Mode.

This scale is foremost used in Persian and Middle East music.
When harmonized, only the second and fourth degrees are matched with common major or minor triads, C and Em that is.
One way to learn this scale is to observe the two chromatic sequences as well as the two tree-step intervals in each octave.