Ab Ionian

A flat Ionian scale for guitar.
The Ab Ionian is a seven-note scale (also referred to as the Ab Major scale). Notes are displayed in the fingerboard diagram, with the root notes indicated by darker color. In the two-octave pattern, the first root note is on the 6th string, 4th fret.


2 octaves

Ab Ionian scale diagramNotes: Ab - Bb - C - Db - Eb - F - G Intervals: 2 - 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 - 2 - 1 Type: Septonic 

The scale displayed with its numeric formula and scale degrees.

Formula Notes Intervals Degrees
1 Ab Unison Tonic
2 Bb Major second Supertonic
3 C Major third Mediant
4 Db Augmented fourth Subdominant
5 Eb Perfect fifth Dominant
6 F Sixth Submediant
7 G Major seventh Leading tone

The A flat Ionian consists of seven notes. These can be described as steps on the guitar fingerboard according to the following formula: whole, whole, half, whole, whole, whole, half from the first note to the same in the next octave.
Ab Ionian is the first mode of Ab Major and therefore both scales include the same notes and in the same order.

This scale is used in numerous styles, such as various forms of pop, rock and classical music.
Since this scale is exactly the same as the Major scale you don't have to put any time into learning it.

The main three-note and four-note chords that are related to this scale are the following:

Ab 466544 Abmaj7 465544
Bbm X13321 Bbm7 X13121
Cm X35543 Cm7 X35343
Db X46664 Dbmaj7 X46564
Eb X68886 Eb7 X68686
Fm 133111 Fm7 131111
Gdim XX5686 Gm7b5 XX5666

The tones in these chords correspond to the tones of the Ab Ionian mode.