Ab Gypsy Minor

A flat Gypsy Minor scale for guitar.
The Ab Gypsy Minor is a seven-note scale. Notes are displayed in the diagram with blue color with the root notes indicated by darker color. In the two-octave pattern, the first root note appears on the 6th string, 4th fret.


2 octaves

Ab gypsy minor scale diagramNotes: Ab - Bb - B - D - Eb - E - G Intervals: 2 - 1 - 3 - 1 - 1 - 3 - 1 Type: Septonic

The scale displayed with its numeric formula, notes, intervals and scale degrees.

Formula Notes Intervals Degrees
1 Ab Unison Tonic
2 Bb Major second Supertonic
b3 B Minor third Mediant
#4 D Augmented fourth Subdominant
5 Eb Perfect fifth Dominant
b6 E Minor sixth Submediant
7 G Minor seventh Subtonic

The main three-note and four-note chords that can be harmonized from this scale are the following:

Name Notation Name Notation
Abm 466444 Abm7 464444
Bb-5 X1233X Bb7-5 012130
Baug X21003 BM7#5 76888X
Dsus2 XX0230 N/A N/A
Eb X68886 Ebmaj7 X68786
E 022100 Emaj7 021100
Gm 355333 Gm6 355353

The tones in these chords correspond to the tones of the Ab Gypsy Minor scale.
The second and fourth columns include short notations for the chords in the first and third columns respectively. These are based on common ways to play the chord, but there are other alternatives. See more about this notation system on the FAQ page.

The A flat Gypsy Minor consists of seven notes. These can be described as intervals, based on semi-notes or steps on the guitar fingerboard, written as 2 - 1 - 3 - 1 - 1 - 3 - 1 from the first note to the next octave.
The scale can be played on the guitar from different starting positions in which Ab functions as the tonic.
The Ab Gypsy Minor is also referred to as the Ab Hungarian Minor scale. It should not be confused with the Ab Gypsy Major scale.