Ab Gypsy Major

A flat Gypsy Major scale for guitar.
The Ab Gypsy Major is a seven-note scale. Notes are displayed in the diagram with blue color with the root notes indicated by darker color. In the two-octave pattern, the first root note appears on the 6th string, 4th fret.


2 octaves

Ab gypsy Major scale diagramNotes: Ab - A - C - Db - Eb - E - G Intervals: 1 - 3 - 1 - 2 - 1 - 3 - 1 Type: Septonic

The scale displayed with its numeric formula, notes, intervals and scale degrees.

Formula Notes Intervals Degrees
1 Ab Unison Tonic
b2 A Minor second Supertonic
3 C Major third Mediant
4 Db Perfect fourth Subdominant
5 Eb Perfect fifth Dominant
b6 E Minor sixth Submediant
7 G Major seventh Leading tone

The main three-note and four-note chords that can be harmonized from this scale are the following:

Name Notation Name Notation
Ab 466544 Abmaj7 465544
A X02220 Amaj7 X02120
Cm X35543 Cm6 XX1213
Dbm X46664 DbmM7 X46554
Eb-5 X6788X Eb7-5 X67678
Eaug X32110 Eaug7 032130
Gsus2(b5)   G6/9b5sus2  

The tones in these chords correspond to the tones of the Ab Gypsy Major scale.
The second and fourth columns include short notations for the chords in the first and third columns respectively. These are based on common ways to play the chord, but there are other alternatives. See more about this notation system on the FAQ page.

The A flat Gypsy Major consists of seven notes. These can be described as intervals, based on semi-notes or steps on the guitar fingerboard, written as 1 - 3 - 1 - 2 - 1 - 3 - 1 from the first note to the next octave.
The scale can be played on the guitar from different starting positions in which Ab functions as the tonic.
The Ab Gypsy Major is also referred to as the Ab Spanish gypsy scale or the Ab Byzantine scale.