G# Melodic Minor scale

G sharp Melodic Minor scale for guitar.
The G# Melodic Minor is a seven-note scale. Colored circles mark the tones in the fingerboard diagram, with darker color highlighting the root notes. In the two-octave pattern, the first root note is on the 6th string, 4th fret.


2 octaves

G# melodic minor scale diagram Notes: G# - A# - B - C# - D# - E# - F## Intervals: 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 - 2 - 2 - 1 Type: Septonic 

The scale displayed with its numeric formula, intervals and scale degrees.

Formula Notes Intervals Degrees
1 G# Unison Tonic
2 A# Major second Supertonic
b3 B Minor third Mediant
4 C# Perfect fourth Subdominant
5 D# Perfect fifth Dominant
6 E# Minor sixth Submediant
7 F## Minor seventh Subtonic

The sixth degree is written as E#, which is the same as F. The seventh degree is written as F##, which is the same as G. A practice in a scale notation is to not include the same letter twice, if it can be avoided.

The main chords that are related to this scale are the following:

  • G#m
  • A#m
  • Baug
  • C#
  • D#
  • Fdim
  • Gdim

The tones in these chords corresponds to the tones of the G# Melodic Minor scale.

The G sharp Melodic Minor scale consist of seven notes. These can be described as intervals, as semi-notes or steps on the guitar fingerboard, written as 2 - 1 - 2 - 2 - 2 - 2 - 1 from the first note to the next octave.
The G# Melodic Minor is one of three G# Minor scales, the other two are G# Natural Minor and G# Harmonic Minor.
The scale is identical with the Major scale apart from the minor third. Because of this, it is sometimes referred to as Ionian b3 scale.